The Glyndebourne Chorus

‘Musically it’s superb, with the most responsive chorus you’re likely to hear…’
Independent on Sunday

‘…sang with a fiery prowess to confirm the Glyndebourne Chorus’s reputation as a cradle of tomorrow’s stars.’
Times Literary Supplement

Glyndebourne takes pride, and justifiably so, in the performances of the Glyndebourne Chorus, whose quality and commitment makes it one of the pre-eminent choruses in international opera. It is recruited annually and comprises a large number of talented and aspiring soloists, mainly drawn from the music colleges, and a core of highly motivated professional choristers.

For many the Glyndebourne Chorus provides the much needed transition from opera course at a conservatory to the professional world, with the opportunity to understudy roles in the Festival and on Tour, and in some cases leading to engagement in a principal role on tour and later in the Festival. There is an infinite amount to be learned from working in close proximity with the high-calibre artists appearing here and from exposure to some of the finest conductors, with one of London’s top symphony orchestras and Britain’s premier period instrument orchestra.

The list of Glyndebourne Chorus ‘alumni’ who have forged careers on the operatic stage is long and distinguished. It includes Thomas Allen, Janet Baker, Barry Banks, Susan Bullock, Sarah Connolly, John Daszak, Richard Van Allan, Ryland Davies, Gerald Finley, Susan Gritton, Alastair Miles, Diana Montague, Dennis O’Neill, Anne-Marie Owens, Peter Rose, Janice Watson and Louise Winter.

Steven Naylor, Director of Artistic Administration

The Glyndebourne Chorus Tour 2017

Chorus Master: Nicholas Jenkins


Joanne Boag
Suzanne Fischer*
Nicola Hughes
Irina Loskova
Deirdre McCabe
Jacquelyn Parker
Hannah Sandison
Rachel Taylor
Pamela Wilcock
Jennifer Witton*
Claire Barnett-Jones
Holly-Marie Bingham*
Natalia Brzezińska
Eirlys Myfanwy Davies
Leslie Davis
Heather Ireson
Jade Moffat
Sarah Osborne
Michaela Parry
Thomasin Trezise*


Richard Bignall
William Blake*
Jonas Cradock
Peter Haydn Ferris
John Findon +
Niel Joubert
Sean Kerr*
Anthony Osborne
David Shaw
William Wallace


Dominic Bowe
Thomas Coltman
Andrew Davies
Edward Hawkins*
John MackenzieLavansch
Adam Marsden
Nicholas Morris
Timothy Murphy*
Matthew Stiff
Michael Wallace

*Hamlet Semi-Chorus
+Jerwood Young Artist 2017

Find out more about the current Jerwood Young Artists.