Gala event marks the 50th anniversary of the John Christie Award

Posted On

A star-studded concert took place at the Royal College of Music in London on Monday night (12 October) to mark the 50th anniversary of the John Christie Award.

The John Christie Award is an annual scholarship presented by the Worshipful Company of Musicians to a young singer who has shown exceptional promise through their work at Glyndebourne.

For over 500 years the Worshipful Company of Musicians has supported the music profession in all its forms. Every year the Company gives a range of awards, scholarships and medals, with the John Christie Award among the most important. Past winners include Richard Van Allen, Anthony Rolfe Johnson, Louise Winter, Lisa Milne and Gerald Finley. The first recipient of the award was tenor Ryland Davies who hosted Monday’s anniversary event.

The concert featured performances by other previous winners including Marie Arnet (2001), Lyubov Petrova (2003), Kate Royal (2004), Duncan Rock (2010), Louise Alder (2014) and this year’s recipient, Nikola Hillebrand.

As well as celebrating the legacy of the John Christie Award, the event sought to raise funds for future generations of opera talent.