• Details

    Sweet-natured Cinderella lives the life of a servant at the home of her downtrodden father and cruel stepmother, teased and tormented by her two foolish stepsisters.

    Will she make it to the ball to meet the handsome Prince? With a little help from her fairy-godmother, she just might.

    A glittering comic opera celebrating the power of fantasy, Cinderella is Jules Massenet’s musical fairytale. An enchanting retelling of the familiar Cinderella story, it balances the exquisite beauty of its romantic and fantasy scenes with deft, witty portraits of Cinderella’s stepmother and stepsisters. The most successful French opera composer of the turn of the century, Massenet’s blend of colourful characters, generous melodies and sumptuous orchestral textures is both heady and bewitching.

    Fiona Shaw, whose Rape of Lucretia for Glyndebourne (2013) was a hit, praised by both critics and audiences, directs a new production created especially for the Glyndebourne Tour.

    Join our Glass Slipper Circle and be part of a dedicated group of supporters bringing Massenet’s Cinderella to Glyndebourne for the first time ever. Find out more about supporting the production as part of the circle.

  • Dates


    Glyndebourne13 October 2018
    Glyndebourne20 October 2018
    Glyndebourne22 October 2018
    Glyndebourne25 October 2018
    Glyndebourne28 October 2018
    Glyndebourne31 October 2018
    Glyndebourne03 November 2018


    Book now

    Canterbury, The Marlowe Theatre 7 November 20187.15pm
    Canterbury, The Marlowe Theatre 10 November 20187.15pm


    Norwich, Theatre Royal 14 November 20187.15pm
    Norwich, Theatre Royal 17 November 20187.15pm


    Book now

    Woking, New Victoria Theatre 23 November 20187.15pm

    Milton Keynes

    Book now

    Milton Keynes Theatre 28 November 20187.15pm
    Milton Keynes Theatre 1 December 20187.15pm
  • Cast and creative team

    Creative team

    Conductor Duncan Ward

    Director Fiona Shaw

    Set Designer Jon Bausor

    Costume Designer Nicky Gillibrand

    Choreographer Sarah Fahie

    Lighting Designer Anna Watson

    Cast includes

    Cendrillon Alix Le Saux

    Madame de la Haltière Agnes Zwierko

    Le Prince Charmant Eléonore Pancrazi

    Le Fée Caroline Wettergreen

    Noémie Eduarda Melo

    Dorothée Kezia Bienek

    Pandolfe William Dazeley / Lionel Lhote (25, 28 October)

    The Glyndebourne Tour Orchestra

    The Glyndebourne Chorus