19 May – 15 July 2023

Don Giovanni

‘Give up women? Are you mad!’

Public booking opens on Sunday 5 March at 6.00pm.

For priority access to tickets, join the family: explore Glyndebourne Membership


Dates and times

Friday 19 May, 5.05pm
Sunday 21 May, 3.50pm
Thursday 25 May, 5.05pm
Sunday 28 May, 3.50pm
Wednesday 31 May, 5.05pm
Saturday 3 June, 5.05pm

Tuesday 6 June, 5.05pm
Friday 9 June, 5.05pm
Wednesday 14 June, 5.05pm
Saturday 17 June, 5.05pm
Wednesday 21 June, 5.05pm
Saturday 24 June, 5.05pm

Tuesday 27 June, 5.05pm
Sunday 2 July, 3.50pm
Saturday 8 July, 5.05pm
Thursday 13 July, 5.05pm
Saturday 15 July, 5.05pm

For performance timings and pricing please download a PDF version of the Festival 2023 performance schedule here.

About the opera

‘Give up women? Are you mad!’

Womanising aristocrat Don Giovanni lives a life of debauchery and pleasure, seducing and abandoning women wherever he goes. But when a seduction goes horribly wrong, he finally finds himself in a situation he cannot charm his way out of.

The Don Juan legend takes breathless and exhilarating form in Mozart’s tragicomedy – a work ETA Hoffmann once called ‘The opera of all operas’. Shakespearean in its breadth of emotion, Don Giovanni slips from laughter and physical farce to brutal psychodrama in a second, a dramatic whirlpool whose inexorable tug pulls both its hero and audience down further and further towards its explosive conclusion. A score of singular power drives the action forwards, seducing its listeners with serenades and love-songs, richly layered ensembles and intricate finales. At the centre of it all is the Don himself, a musical cipher as charismatic as he is unknowable.

Mariame Clément directs Glyndebourne’s first new Don Giovanni in over a decade. Rising-star conductor Evan Rogister makes his Festival debut.

A new production for Festival 2023. Sung in Italian with English supertitles.

Creative team

Conductor
Evan Rogister

Director
Mariame Clément

Designer
Julia Hansen

Lighting Designer
Bernd Purkrabek

Projection Designer
Etienne Guiol

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

The Glyndebourne Chorus
Chorus Director
Aidan Oliver

Cast includes

Don Giovanni
Andrey Zhilikhovsky
Andrei Bondarenko (27 June & 2, 8 July)

Donna Anna
Venera Gimadieva

Don Ottavio
Oleksiy Palchykov

Donna Elvira
Ruzan Mantashyan

Leporello
Mikhail Timoshenko

 Zerlina
Victoria Randem

Masetto
Michael Mofidian

 Il Commendatore
Jerzy Butryn


Supported by a syndicate of individuals
Filming supported by Brian Mitchell Charitable Settlement
Bring world-class opera to the stage

To find out more about production support for Festival 2023 click here
or contact our Director of Development, Helen McCarthy for an informal chat:
call 01273 815 032 or email helen.mccarthy@glyndebourne.com


Illustration © Katie Ponder

You might also like

We're very pleased to unveil an ambitious new autumn program…
News & features
Thinking of coming to Glyndebourne this summer? Here's our g…
Opera of the Month
February's Opera of the Month is Barbe & Doucet's inventive …
Explore our latest job vacancies
Brighten the stage with world-class opera and artists
Glyndebourne Shop
Our online shop offers a great selection of exclusive and locally sourced products. Every purchase supports our work.
Become a Member
Enjoy priority booking for the Festival. Find out how you can join as an Associate Member
Support us
Glyndebourne is a charity and the Festival receives no public subsidy. We rely on generous supporters who are passionate about opera.

Select time

Cancel