More events

Concert for Ukraine

A special one-off fundraising concert for the people of Ukraine, which took place on 3 April 2022

Update – In addition to donations made directly to the Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC)the concert raised over £65,000 which will go towards providing much-needed food, water, shelter and healthcare to refugees and displaced families in Ukraine.

Thank you to everyone who attended, and everyone who donated their time for free.

See photos from the concert here


A special one-off concert to raise funds for the people of Ukraine. Robin Ticciati unites the London Philharmonic Orchestra and a host of Glyndebourne artists – all of whom are donating their time – for an afternoon of music as we stand in solidarity with those affected by war.

All ticket sales and any other proceeds from this event will be donated to the Disasters Emergency Committee’s Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal.

In the middle of this appalling humanitarian crisis people are suffering, and need immediate practical help. Alongside other performing arts organisations in the UK, and beyond, we stand in solidarity with all those affected, and earnestly hope that this concert at Glyndebourne will be both a profound and beautiful musical dedication to Ukraine, and raise much-needed funds for the DEC.

More information about the programme for this concert will be released on our website over the coming weeks.

About the concert

A fundraising concert for the people of Ukraine
Sunday 3 April
Start time: 3.00pm (running time 80 minutes, approx)
Tickets £50

Please note that an official photographer will be capturing the concert from various positions in the auditorium throughout the event.

Performing artists


Robin Ticciati


Louise Alder
Danielle de Niese
Rodrigo Porras Garulo
Inna Husieva
Kate Lindsey
Sally Matthews
Huw Montague Rendall
Sir John Tomlinson

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Pieter Schoeman Leader
Chair supported by Neil Westreich
Vesselin Gellev Sub-Leader
Kate Oswin
Chair supported by Friends of the Orchestra
Lasma Taimina
Chair supported by Irina Gofman & Mr Rodrik V. G. Cave
Martin Höhmann
Chair supported by Chris Aldren
Katalin Varnagy
Chair supported by Sonja Drexler
Amanda Smith
Yang Zhang
Chair supported by Eric Tomsett
Inês Delgado
Rasa Zukauskaite
Elizaveta Tyun

Tania Mazzetti Principal
Chair supported by Countess Dominique Loredan
Emma Oldfield
Kate Birchall
Fiona Higham
Chair supported by David & Yi Buckley
Nynke Hijlkema
Joseph Maher
Sioni Williams
Alison Strange

Ting-Ru Lai Principal
Katharine Leek
Benedetto Pollani
Michelle Bruil
Stanislav Popov
Charles Cross

Kristina Blaumane Principal
Chair supported by Bianca & Stuart Roden
Francis Bucknall
Sue Sutherley
Susanna Riddell
George Hoult
David Bucknall

Sebastian Pennar Principal
Hugh Kluger
George Peniston
Tom Walley
Chair supported by William & Alex de Winton
Lowri Morgan

Charlotte Ashton Guest Principal
Maja Persson
Stewart McIlwham

Stewart McIlwham Principal

Ian Hardwick Principal
James Hulme

Sue Böhling Principal
Chair supported by Dr Barry Grimaldi

Thomas Watmough Principal
Chair supported by Roger Greenwood
Elliot Gresty

Paul Richards Principal

Gareth Newman Principal
Emma Harding

Dominic Morgan

Mark Vines Principal
Martin Hobbs
Oliver Johnson
Gareth Mollison

Paul Beniston Principal
Anne McAneney
Tom Nielsen

David Whitehouse Principal
Benny Vernon

Lyndon Meredith Principal

Lee Tsarmaklis Principal

Simon Carrington Principal
Chair supported by Victoria Robey OBE

Andrew Barclay Principal
Chair supported by Gill & Garf Collins
Jeremy Cornes

Rachel Masters Principal

The London Philharmonic Orchestra also acknowledges the following chair supporters whose players are not present at this concert:

The Candide Trust
William & Alex de Winton
Sir Simon Robey
Caroline, Jamie & Zander Sharp


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Robin Ticciati Conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven
Overture to Egmont, Op 84

Richard Wagner
In fernem Land
Rodrigo Porras Garulo tenor

Christoph Willibald Gluck (arr Berlioz)
J’ai perdu mon Eurydice
Kate Lindsey mezzo soprano

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Die tote Stadt
Mein Sehnen, mein Wähnen
Huw Montague Rendall baritone

Georges Bizet
Adieu de l’hôtesse arabe, WD 72
Danielle de Niese soprano

Jean Sibelius
Karelia Suite, Op 11
1st movement

Richard Wagner
Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Was duftet doch der Flieder
Sir John Tomlinson bass

Franz Léhar
Die lustige Witwe
Vilja’s aria
Louise Alder soprano

Victoria Vita Polevá
Thornbush for violin solo, cello solo and strings

Richard Strauss
Morgen Op 27, No 4
Sally Matthews soprano

Ukrainian National Anthem
Inna Husieva soprano

Can’t make it to the concert, or want to make a bigger donation?
You can donate directly to the DEC’s Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal here

You might also like

News & features
Everything you need to know about our concert performances o…
We are very pleased to reveal the lineup for our 90th annive…
In the latest episode of the BBC’s Take Me to the Opera, Zei…
Explore our latest job vacancies
Brighten the stage with world-class opera and artists
Glyndebourne Shop
Our online shop offers a great selection of exclusive and locally sourced products. Every purchase supports our work.
Become a Member
Enjoy priority booking for the Festival. Find out how you can join as an Associate Member
Support us
Glyndebourne is a charity and the Festival receives no public subsidy. We rely on generous supporters who are passionate about opera.

Select time