Glyndebourne shortlisted at 2017 International Opera Awards

Posted On

Glyndebourne has been shortlisted in the Education and Outreach category of the 2017 International Opera Awards, it has been announced.

2016 marked 30 years since the creation of Glyndebourne’s education department, which was founded in 1986 by Katie Tearle MBE.

Set up initially to complement Glyndebourne’s touring activities, the department has expanded to become a year-round operation and is responsible for a large percentage of the company’s new commissions.

Across three trailblazing decades, Glyndebourne’s education work has seen more than 3,000 amateur singers and instrumentalists take part in performance projects, introduced more than 30,000 children to live opera, generated commissions for 32 different composers and won four prestigious awards.

Highlights of education work in 2016 were the world premiere of Nothing, a critically-acclaimed new youth opera by David Bruce and Glyn Maxwell, performed by members of Glyndebourne Youth Opera, and the launch of two new awards for young singers.

The International Opera Awards shortlist was drawn up by an international jury from more than 20,000 nominations and recognises achievements during 2016. A number of artists who performed at Glyndebourne last year have also been shortlisted:

  • Stéphanie d’Oustrac – Female Singer (Béatrice/ Béatrice et Bénédict, Festival 2016)
  • Louise Alder – Young Artist (Zerlina/ Don Giovanni, Tour 2016)
  • Björn Bürger – Young Artist (Figaro/ Il barbiere di Siviglia, Festival 2016)
  • Lloyd Wood – Best Newcomer (Revival Director of Don Giovanni, Tour 2016)

Also recognised are singers who can be seen at Glyndebourne this summer:

  • Lise Davidsen – Young Artist (title role/ Ariadne auf Naxos, Festival 2017)
  • Björn Bürger – Young Artist (Harlequin/ Ariadne auf Naxos, Festival 2017)
  • Allan Clayton – Best Recording (title role/ Hamlet, Festival 2017)

The winners will be announced at an event on Sunday 7 May at the London Coliseum.

Highlights from the awards ceremony will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Sunday 21 May.

View the complete shortlist.